[Parentsgroup-list] childcare

Aviva Presser Aiden anilidodi at gmail.com
Tue Nov 9 01:03:22 EST 2010


Hi,

There is Sittercity.com and care.com. They actually get a fair bit of
traffic from college and graduate students looking for part time work.
You do have to pay a fee to use the service, but we found someone
through them.

Aviva

On 11/9/10, Sebastian Velez <svelez at fas.harvard.edu> wrote:
> Following up on Ian's reply, I think you have to be realistic here. You are
> asking for a college-educated health-conscious creative non-smoker who is
> CPR/FirstAid-certified, better if she is Farsi-speaking person who knows
> about child development, goes to your house, knows Cambridge, brings
> references and fits your family. And that for 6 hours a week. If she has to
> be 'flexible' with her time, that means she can't take other steady work
> which might make her 'unflexible'. I have a babysitter that does not qualify
> for 1/2 of those standards, and consider myself lucky.
>
> Just a thought.
>
> s
>
> On Mon, Nov 8, 2010 at 1:50 PM, <mahtab9 at aol.com> wrote:
>
>> I am wondering if anyone has recommendations for a baby sitter or a home
>> day care that is flexible and open to 6 hours of care a week.   I am
>> looking for a care provider for our 16 month old daughter for 3 hours, 2
>> days
>> a week, from 2:30 -5:30pm.
>>
>> What are we looking for:
>>  We need someone who is experienced and comfortable with taking care of a
>> toddler.   Our ideal match is a care provider who has a sincere love of
>> children, is energetic and active, who will take our daughter out to the
>> library, playgrounds, and play dates and provide opportunities for her to
>> socialize with other toddlers.   While at home, we would like her to use
>> books, crafts, music and other activities to engage our daughter.  We are
>> new to the area, so someone familiar with activities for kids in Cambridge
>> would be great.  We would like the person to come to our home.
>> Additional qualification:
>> · Caring, responsible, energetic and creative
>> · reliable and punctual
>> · Health conscious, non-smoker
>> · Certified in Infant/Child CPR and First Aid (we may be able to assist
>> with the cost of certification if needed)
>> · Definite plus is to have someone who has knowledge the developmental
>> stages of children of this age.
>> · College Education or equivalent in life experiences
>> · Ability to speak Farsi is a big plus as we are a bi-lingual, and
>> bi-cultural  family, but not a requirement.
>> · References required
>>
>> We are open to nanny share or a mom who has a little one close to our
>> daughter's age and is looking to take care of another; however, first and
>> foremost, we wish to find someone who is a good fit for our family.
>>
>>  If you have any suggestions and/or interested, please contact me at
>> mahtab9 at aol.com
>>
>> thanks in advance
>>
>>
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> Parentsgroup-list mailing list
>> Parentsgroup-list at lists.hcs.harvard.edu
>> https://lists.hcs.harvard.edu/mailman/listinfo/parentsgroup-list
>>
>>
>
>
> --
> Sebastián Vélez
> Department of Invertebrate Zoology
> Museum of Comparative Zoology
> Harvard University
> 26 Oxford St. Cambridge MA 02138
>

-- 
Sent from my mobile device

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Dr. Aviva Presser Aiden
Harvard University
The Broad Institute
7 Cambridge Center #6047
Cambridge, MA  02142


More information about the Parentsgroup-list mailing list